Monsterpalooza – The Art of Monsters

0

Fangoria former Editor Tony Timpone joins Monsterpalooza LA Conventions Scream Team

New York, NY, August 26, 2016 — Rubber Room Headhunters Corporation and Monsterpalooza President Eliot Brodsky are thrilled to announce the addition of Tony Timpone as Programming Director and Moderator for Monsterpalooza’s dual events in 2016 and 2017.

Timpone is no stranger to the world of horror with his three decades as Editor in Chief at Fangoria magazine, as well as a producer on Bravo’s 100 Scariest Movie Moments and author of Men, Makeup, and Monsters.

Timpone served as a programming producer and moderator at Fangoria’s Weekend of Horrors conventions from 1986 to 2009, events which featured an A to Z list of powerhouse guests including Jack Nicholson, Quentin Tarantino, Dario Argento, Christopher Lee, Vincent Price, Lucio Fulci, Rob Zombie, and many more.

“Tony is the perfect match for our events,” says Brodsky. “As a springboard, Tony will be handling many of our main panels this September at Son of Monsterpalooza in Burbank, as well as acting as our Programming Director and Moderator for all of our panels at 2017’s Monsterpalooza, which returns to Pasadena.”

Monsterpalooza: The Art of Monsters has been a staple of the West Coast convention scene since its inception in 2008. Curated exhibits and special presentations focusing on the artistic elements found in film and television has attracted the attention of industry professionals (Guillermo del Toro, J.J. Abrams, and a who’s who of the special makeup FX world) and fans alike.

“Monsterpalooza has taken what was started [by past conventions] and brought it up to a whole new level, with amazing guests, live makeup demonstrations, and an unbelievable monstrous monster museum filled with displays unlike any I have seen before. I can’t wait to begin work for Eliot and his team to create the next wave of must-attend fan events.”

Timpone will make his long-overdue homecoming to the convention stage for Son of Monsterpalooza, to be held September 16-18, 2016 at the Marriott Burbank Convention Center & Hotel (2500 North Hollywood Way; 818-843-6000). Son of Monsterpalooza will boast such highlights as special appearances from cast members of films such as Gremlins, The Hills Have Eyes (1977), Night of the Living Dead (1968), Re-Animator, and many more. Spotlight presentations with special guests from recent hits like What We Do in the Shadows and The Conjuring 2; informative talks from FX veterans Steve (Ghostbusters) Johnson and John (From Beyond) Naulin; a huge cash-prize costume contest sponsored by Premiere Products; a Saturday night After-Life Party; several premieres of independent horror movies; and much, much more.

For next year’s main extravaganza, Timpone will program and moderate the gargantuan original show, Monsterpalooza, coming April 7-9, 2017 to the hangar-sized Pasadena Convention Center (300 East Green Street; 800-307-7977).

“A consummate showman, Eliot has turned Monsterpalooza into the ultimate genre fan event, and he succeeds brilliantly at this task because he is a fan himself,” says Timpone. “He has created a wonderful biannual event to display his love of monsters, special FX and dark fantasy. Eliot brings fans from all over the world together under one roof.”

For tickets and more information on Monsterpaloooza, please visit www.monsterpalooza.com

 

TERROR FILMS ANNOUNCES RELEASE DATE & SNEAK PEEK CLIP FOR THE HOUSE ON PINE STREET

0

Los Angeles, California – August 22nd, 2016: TERROR FILMS starts to unleash its slate of 2016 titles, beginning with the award winning and critically acclaimed film, THE HOUSE ON PINE STREET.

The first phase of the release will begin on September 30th, 2016 on the following TVOD platforms: iTunes, Amazon Instant, Google Play, Vudu, Xbox and PlayStation. Pre-Order is now available on iTunes: http://geni.us/jaXlG7l.

The company hopes to expand the release in the coming months on platforms such as Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, YouTube, Fullscreen and Vimeo On Demand as well as major VOD and DVD retailers. Those dates will be announced once they have secured placement. The film is also set to debut theatrically in at least two cities, which have yet to be finalized.

The story revolves around Jennifer (Emily Goss). She is seven months pregnant and reluctantly returning to her hometown in Kansas, after an unexpected mental breakdown. Coping with her fears of motherhood, a strained relationship with her husband, Luke (Taylor Bottles), and the overbearing presence of her own mother, Meredith (Cathy Barnett), Jennifer struggles to regain control of her life. But when strange things start happening in their new rental home, Jennifer begins to fear that it may be haunted. Alone in her convictions, Jennifer is forced to question her sanity as she attempts to find out what, if anything, is plaguing the house.

The House On Pine Street was directed by Aaron and Austin Keeling. The directors co-wrote the film along with: Natalie Jones. All three of them produced the film along with: Monique Thomas. The film was an official selection at 14 domestic and international film festivals including – the New Orleans Horror Film Festival. Here, it won the Best Feature award, Nocturna Madrid International Fantastic Film Festival, Molins Horror Film Festival, and the Kansas International Film Festival.

As part of the marketing efforts Terror Films will release a new clip every week leading up to the film’s release, starting with this first sneak peek. Be sure to check out the film that critics are calling: “Creepy” – Variety/ “Disturbing…This movie had me so on edge.” – Horrornews.net / “A classic supernatural story” -Horrorhomeroom.com.

“It’s Just a House Jennifer” movieclip: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4_0ZRycb8w0

The official trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_3uT_-EhK3U

For more information on Terror Films, go to: www.terrorfilms.net

The-House-on-Pine-Street-Aaron-Keeling-Movie-Poster

Gross Movie Reviews #385

0

Gross Movie Reviews #385

 

Navy Seals vs. Zombies (DVD) – Michael Dudikoff heads a team of special Navy Seals that are ready for anything. A zombie outbreak traps the vice president in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, and the Navy Seals are sent in to rescue him. Once finished they must head to a different location in the city looking for scientists at a classified CIA lab to extract them for the possible cure to the outbreak. Along the way the Seals are being filmed by a reporter who is looking for her big break. For the most part horror fans the box art is better than the film as it’s just another cookie cutout zombie flick that the only reason to watch is for the “Dudikoff”. I give this lame zombie film 1 ½ stars.

 

Freaks of Nature (DVD) – It amazes me the crap that makes the theater and then the random unbelievable awesome horror films that just show up on cable, On Demand, etc. This flick is the latter as aliens attack the small town of Dillford. The town has its issues as humans, vampires, and zombies are finding it very hard to coexist these days and the alien invasion gives them a reason to fight each other. Meanwhile, during the alien invasion and the war between Dillford residents, three teenagers (a human, a vampire, and a zombie) all must get over their everyday hang-ups of being teenagers. If they do not the world is surely going to die. The film has a great dialogue, great effects, but it all doesn’t work without these three: Mackenzie Davis, Nicholas Braun, and Josh Fadem. Without them this movie is nothing but because of them the film has that allure of a ‘Weird Science’ or ‘The Monster Squad’ or ‘Popcorn’ where movie fans will want to watch it over and over again. An amazing masterpiece in my eyes as I give it 4 stars and surely it will be on my “Best of 2016 list”.

Knuckle Bones

Knucklebones (DVD/Vimeo) – Here’s a little unknown horror film from Mitch Wilson and Midnight Releasing about some weird demon shit going down at a dry cleaner in Texas, 1976. 40 years we are introduced to a cute college girl named Neesa who gets dumped by her long time cute boyfriend. Neesa goes with the next step of trying to commit suicide but does not succeed. So when released, friends try to help and get her out of her funk by taking her along with two dudes to the supposedly haunted dry cleaner that has been closed since that faithful day in 1976. They find a box that has dice/bones/summoning stones (take your pick) and it has written instructions. So of course let’s summon demons and get our young nubile bodies sliced and diced! But it does not stop there as the demon “Knucklebones” they bring to life survives on death and gore but also does a horrible Freddy Kruger impression. After killing several people and the dice being crushed Neesa goes completely batshit crazy bad ass and cuts off her hand! Only to burn the flesh off the hand and send old Knucklebones away. What looked like a boring independent horror film not worth talking about turned into a gorefest where demons use chainsaws and women go Bruce Campbell to save the fucking world! My only complaint of the whole film is the decision of Knucklebones cracking shitty jokes the whole way. Outside of that little complaint this movie is bad ass with its demon, its gore, and just a bad ass character in Neesa. Thank you Midnight Releasing for putting this wonderful horror film out there as I give it 3 out of 4 stars. You can find out more about it at: www.braindamagefilms.com or www.midnightreleasing.com .

 

Green Room (DVD) – So Patrick Stewart runs a club for Nazi punks… that’s normal. Honestly fun thriller as an underground punk band finds a gig in the middle of the woods in skinhead country. They play a bad ass gig, get paid, grab their shit, and witness a murder. Bad news you cannot leave because Patrick Stewart gotta take care of things. So it’s up to the trapped band members to fight their way through killer dogs, skinheads, and just Nazi punks wanting to prove themselves. It gets pretty graphic and only bad thing I can say is I felt like I seen this movie before but don’t let that stop you from watching this non-stop onslaught of craziness. I give the film 3 stars.

 

The Demented (DVD) – Six partying college friends just happen to be at a cabin where a dirty bomb goes off nearby and zombies happen because of the bio-chemical fallout. They must fight their way out of the cabin and the small nearby town just to get some help. I felt like the film ‘Chemical Peel’ may have done this a little better but they don’t have zombies as I give this 2 stars.

Auto Shop of Horrors

Auto Shop of Horrors (DVD/YouTube) – When Glen Berggoetz contacts me about a new flick he has done I know it’s gonna be a good day and it was with his latest project that he co-produced, co-written, co-directed, and of course starred in. Glen’s character is Randy. Randy happens to be a mechanic at the local auto shop who is very interested in the ancient Aztecs. As you know “the ancient Aztecs use to eat people’s eyeballs so they can see in the future.” Randy doesn’t question it at all and just goes with it as the auto shop now turns into ‘Blood Diner’. With each new client having engine trouble, Randy traps them, kills them, eats their eyeballs, and pushes them off a cliff in their car (or the same car in every scene.) Even when a detective begins questioning Randy that doesn’t stop Randy from being obsessed with eating eyeballs and seeing in the future. The highlights are licking eyeball scene which may be the most disturbing thing I have ever seen, his visions of ‘Midget Zombie Takeover, and what looks like twizzlers hanging from the eyeballs once removed. Glen has produced another classic independent horror film that is worthy of its title and to be watch by many as I give it 3 out of 4 stars. Find out more about the film or Glen’s other worthy projects go here: www.facebook.com/glenn.berggoetz or www.facebook.com/AutoShopOfHorrors .

 

Isle of the Dead (DVD/SyFy Channel) – Joey Lawrence is a part of a Navy Seal team going to an island that is infested with zombies. The island became infested after a military experiment went wrong ten years ago so now the government sends in a team to extract information before nuking the island. I am sorry you are still processing I said Joey Lawrence but either way just move along because you are not missing much in this latest entry to the zombie genre as I give it maybe 1 star …

 

Venomous (DVD) – A 2002 flick about Treat Williams playing a doctor in the desert town of Santa Mira where rattlesnakes just happen to be carrying a new strain of “Ebola”. These rattlesnakes just happen to be a mutation of an experiment during the Iraq war that disappeared or the building blew up. Long buried but now rearing its ugly head in this small town some military types want everyone to go away permanently as they try to convince Andrew Stevens to nuke the town. But Treat Williams and his cute ex-wife finally come up with antidote and get on TV to stop the nukes! Treat Williams always makes “when animal goes bad” flicks so much fun as I give this snake flick 2 ½ stars.

 

Terrordactyl (DVD) – A generic “Tucker and Dale” hook up with a cute bartender to fight space dinosaurs and there wasn’t even an Eric Roberts cameo. Count me out as I give this flick 1 star.

 

Any comments or questions please send to grossmoviereview@verizon.net or www.facebook.com/grossmoviereviews . Remember folks always support your local independent movie theater, independent video store, and independent filmmakers! It will keep horror alive………

You can always visit and see some past reviews, independent film news, or me ranting at: www.grossmoviereviews.com !!!

Don’t forget you can also hear Kyle Poling and me talking about horror flicks on a weekly basis on the Bloodbaths and Boomsticks podcast at: www.bloodbathspodcast.blogspot.com/

Plus you can always go to the greatest T-shirt place online or if you are in Texas visit the store of “Fast Custom Shirts” where T-shirt Joe is the only place you should purchase your horror T-shirts: Go to www.fastcustomshirts.com for details.

First stop this fall for Gross Movie Reviews…

0

www.cinemawasteland.com

CW

Ticket Prices: 3 Day VIP Passes are $40 thru September 9th, 2016. 3 Day VIP Passes are available at the door Friday for $50. Single day admissions are $20 thru September 9th, 2016 1 Day Admissions are available at the door – $20 on Friday, $25 on Saturday, $15 on Sunday

The Guest List for the Sept. 30 – Oct. 1 & 2 is now pretty well finished. We also added a few more Films to the list of Movies and Shorts we will be screening and started scheduling the 60+ hours’ worth of Programming that goes into each and every CW Show.

We’ve had a ton of people ask us about the cool glasses we printed for last year’s 15th Anniversary Show. It wouldn’t be right to reprint them since they were designed as a limited collectible but we did work up another all …new design that we will be getting printed in time for the Fall show. They’ll be limited as well, but we promise to print up a few more than last year. In the meantime, the new glass artwork is posted with this post so everyone can check it out.

Passes are naturally on sale now and you can still get a 3-Day Pass for only $40, which also gets you into the show at 4pm on Friday for no additional charge. You can grab your passes on line at: http://www.cinemawasteland.com/cinemashow/ticket.html

 

Knucklebones Available September 13th, 2016

0

Knuckle Bones

Knucklebones Available September 13th, 2016

 

When college student Neesa and a group of friends stumble across an ancient dice game their first instinct is to roll them bones. Their second instinct is to run for their lives when the demon they summon starts killing them off one by one.

www.midnightreleasing.com and www.braindamagefilms.com

 

Gross Movie Reviews #384

0

Gross Movie Reviews #384

 

Full Eclipse (DVD) – Oh the glory of random HBO original movies… This lesser known werewolf film if you can classify it as that was released in 1993 starring Bruce Payne, Mario Van Peebles, Patsy Kensit, Dean Norris, Jennifer Rubin, and Paula Marshall. Max is a young cop who just lost his partner in a chaotic hostage takeover of a nightclub. Some time passes and his partner is back and good as new or so it seems. Meanwhile a man named Adam Garou wants Max to be part of his “special forces unit” within the police department. They help reduce crime drastically where ever Garou goes. Max not being a team player thinks something is weird and sees it in person when he is invited to a raid of a mob party where this group turns monstrous and kills all! Garou injects the team with a serum of his making that makes the team impervious to pain or being killed. One problem you are part werewolf and could go mad or become disfigured if you do not take the serum on a regular basis. ‘Full Eclipse’ is a very different twist on the werewolf genre that not many horror fans talk about plus added bonus debating if it was influenced by the ‘Wolverine’ character, just sayin? I give the werewolf film 3 stars.

 

Helen Keller vs. Nightwolves (DVD) – Let that title sink in for a minute as it is totally based on an accurate account of Alabama in 1910… Helen and family are attacked by these vicious creatures known as Nightwolves which causes her to be deaf and blind. So Helen takes upon herself to defend her small town and family against the evil creatures with some help from Barry Bostwick. The film also includes a hilarious line when Helen first meets Barry Bostwick’s character and feels his face and says, “It feels like Bruce Campbell”. This movie had me laughing from the time it began to after the credits as it takes nothing serious and that’s good in my book as I give it 3 stars.

 

Ozark Sharks (DVD/SyFy Channel) – Sharks have infested a Colorado lake and there is a dude with a Jeep Cherokee Truck that has a harpoon gun attached to it just because. Okay I will watch but I didn’t say it was good as I give it 1 star.

 

Shark Killer (DVD) – Arnold Vosloo is an unstoppable bad ass who likes diamonds and lives in South Africa. Someone screws over Vosloo and the biggest diamond on earth has been swallowed by a great white shark. The only one that can help is bootleg Chris Pratt aka Chase Walker who makes his living with sharks, sort of. His brother is the one that screwed over Vosloo and Vosloo has been shot, burned, and attacked by sharks but keeps coming. A wonderful overlooked B-movie worth watching with friends and enjoy the cheese but be entertained also as I give the flick 2 ½ stars.

 

Sharknado 4: The 4th Awakens (DVD/SyFy Channel) – It’s been five years since the last known Sharknado has hit anywhere in the world. Ian Ziering as Finn has been resting comfortable at home with his and April’s son and decides to go to Las Vegas. There is the epicenter of Tommy Davidson’s invention of a weather destabilizer and many located around the world stop the Sharknados before they ever get started until now. This time around the Sharknados get started on land and cannot be stopped as there is a snownado, firenado, radioactive Sharknado, you name the nado! Finn rushes back to Kansas to save his son but must help everyone along the way. Tara Reid returns from the aid of her father Gary Busey. David Hasselhoff returns, Lloyd Kaufman makes an appearance, horror fans get Caroline Williams from ‘TCM 2’ fame to make not one but two references to ‘Texas Chainsaw Massacre’, and if that wasn’t enough Steve Guttenberg shows up with a Stephen King ‘Christine’ reference! The series is fun but as I said last time out I believe the series needs to end as I give it 2 stars.

 

2 Lava 2 Lantula (DVD/SyFy Channel) – I believe I have finally broken the computer’s spellcheck with that title? Steve Guttenberg is back as Colton and this time he has to go save his college-aged daughter in Florida as the lava spiders are attacking again. With the help of his partner Michael Winslow, Colton leaves his latest film project to find his daughter, throw out I believe a very random ‘Cocoon’ reference, and fight with Martin Kove about not waking the queen lava spider and long enough for Kove to say “sweep the leg”. The sequel still has the magic of the first film but like ‘Sharknado’ kill off the series before it becomes a shell of itself and where in the hell is the real star Michael Varrati? I give the sequel that had some awesome trailers 3 stars.

 

Spectre (DVD) – James Bond faces his own extinction and must make a choice as the demise of the “007” program is about to be finalized but for the wrong reasons. With no one to trust and being tracked by his own government James must find out why the program is about to go away but why one man is about to be given all the power of most of the world’s securities and be able to track and see anything and everything. I really enjoyed the Bond film as I thought it was a spectacular ending to the recent stretch of Daniel Craig entries. Will it be his last remains to be seen but if there is one more this has made sure we will get finally a stand-alone Bond film that has no connection to the past films. This film presents a case that Bond is still relevant as I give it 3 stars.

 

Outlaw of Gor (VHS/Comet TV) – The Professor Cabot once again returns to the world of Gor where the place he once saved is in trouble as a high priest and a cheating queen cause issues in the kingdom. The high priest is played by Jack Palance and this 1988 film has made it on many bad film lists over the years and one of the more popular episodes of MST3K among fans. For me it’s a sequel and I seen the first fantasy film so of course I needed to see this oddity as I give it 2 stars.

 

Frontier Marshal (YouTube) – As a request from a friend I watched this western to review it and glad I did. The 1939 film is all about Wyatt Earp and the O.K. Coral and put it simply influences the modern day film ‘Tombstone’ that stars Kurt Russell and Val Kilmer. It’s wild as we get to see a young John Carradine, a young Cesar Romero play Doc Holliday, and the Wolfman himself Lon Chaney Jr. playing a henchmen/paid gunman. Enough violence to make it stand out from the usual westerns of the day but its portrayal of the O.K. Coral is amazing and you understand why so many kids of that era wanted to be cowboys. I give this oldie but goodie 3 ½ stars.

Creature Feature

Creature Feature (DVD/Vimeo) – Filmmaker Chase Smith presents to you an anthology of scary stories that are being told by a group of friends trying to scare each other at a Halloween party. We have clown statues, revenge zombies, witches, scarecrow/pumpkin man, and a haunted house with a baby killer/werewolf who lives there. The group is trying to scare the shit out of each other with each story as drink more and more but who ends up scaring who is the twist. The 80s inspired anthology screams fun with its short quick stories, nudity, and gore and gives horror/Halloween themed film fans something else to look forward to watch for the upcoming Halloween holiday as I give the film 2 ½ out of 4 stars. You can found out more about the film at www.braindamagefilms.com and www.midnightreleasing.com .

 

Batman: The Killing Joke (DVD) – The comic book story of Batman and Joker of where Joker crossing the line comes to animation film land. Batman has been training Batgirl/Barbara Gordon for a few years now and things have become different at least for Batgirl. Frustrated, she goes out on her own to fight a mob boss’ son who wants to get in the head of Batgirl. Once resolved and the relationship has changed between Batman and Batgirl, The Joker has found his way out of the asylum and has big plans for Commissioner Gordon and his daughter. I enjoyed the film till the end where Batman and the Joker just laugh together instead of killing each other. I am sure there is some comic book nerds that will explain this to me but I thought someone die after Barbara Gordon was raped at gun point. I give the film 2 stars.

Hollywood Nightmare

Hollywood Nightmare (DVD/Vimeo) – Another Chase Smith film that stars Zoe Meyers as a stuck up actress Kendall Summers who thinks she is a movie star before she has become one. Kendall walks off her latest project for the weekend to get together with friends and show off her new million dollar home she just signed the papers to lease. Once there her two friends have better plans as their boyfriends show up and Kendall is forced to go to bed alone and drunk. Annoyed, Kendall keeps hearing noises all night. Next morning Kendall practicing lines for Monday’s scenes notices a shadow/a dark figure while studying the tape of her lines. When the leasing agent Sam keeps showing up unexpected, Kendall begins to question Sam about the history of the home. Sam is vague about everything as Kendall continues to hear noises, have dreams, and see a dark figure. The film is a fun thriller that runs a little longer than I like but the performance of Zoe Meyers is what makes this story work as I give the film 3 out of 4 stars. You can find out more at: www.braindamagefilms.com and www.midnightreleasing.com .

 

Reviled: Ep. 2 (Vimeo) – Filmmaker Jim Stramel continues his zombie saga that revolves around zombie pit fighting in the south. The events happen after the zombie apocalypse has come and gone and were a blimp on the social radar screen. Frank and his zombie daughter travel in their dirty van killing or crippling zombies in the illegal sport for money. But the real story is how Frank is still attached to his undead daughter and refuses to let go. This episode continues to introduce some new characters and expand the universe of this unique idea. Its dirty, has a lot of grime, a little gory, and absolutely beautiful zombie universe. My favorite part of this episode might be the kids selling bug spray for 25 cents as it is a little thing that makes it known to me that Jim Stramel takes this project seriously and make me wanting more! I give it 3 ½ out of 4 stars. Wanna check it out or maybe throw a few dollars Stramel and company’s way to help fund future episodes go to: www.reviledzombieseries.com .

 

Vile Prey (DVD) – Independent filmmaker Tim Novotny has a new sick horror project out there. It begins with three men doing a blood ritual of sorts but we are quickly thrown into a scene of brutality as the three men are torturing a couple during a house invasion. Credits roll… with news clips on television about murders, serial killer, and the local authorities being baffled but determined in solving these small county murders. But the three men are getting sloppy with their work and what seems just another torture movie takes a left turn when Marcus, the leader’s van has engine trouble on a dark back road. Soon they are being watched by someone with a night vision gun scope who captures Marcus. Beats him up a little, drugs him, and explains it is time for a hunt as Marcus is left disoriented in the middle of the woods. The man is named Max and he captures Marcus’ two cohorts to torture and maim them. The weird thing is Max’s brother is Dan head of the police department who knows all about what Max is doing in the middle of the dark woods. They believe in justice and covering it up so the feds believe the killer or killers are dead or captures. Novotny does a balancing act between thriller and just another torture revenge flick with ‘Vile Prey’. The film could have gone in many directions and I would not be surprised if there were several revisions of the script from Novotny as I can easily see the talented filmmaker revisiting this material again for another twisted project. ‘Vile Prey’ is somewhat brutal and interesting and shows Novotny is just getting started writing and directing wise as I give the flick 2 ½ out of 4 stars. For more info and to see the trailer check out: www.facebook.com/VilePrey .

 

Legendary (DVD) – The film is also known as ‘Tomb of the Dragon’ and stars Scott Adkins as Dr. Preston who is a cryptozoologist who is tracks down strange creatures to see if they exist or they are just mere myth. On his latest expedition one of his young assistants is killed when they find a prehistoric bear and Dolph Lundgren as Harker shoots at it wanting another trophy on his wall. Months have pass and lawsuits are piling up from Harker until a mysterious lawyer comes by the office to have Dr. Preston look into a dragon/giant lizard/croc-like creature attacking in China. The creature keeps attacking a facility that has already hired Harker to kill the creature. This is a Saturday night SyFy Channel film if I ever seen one and with Adkins and Lundgren starring in it this film was a blast as I give it 3 stars.

 

Dead Rising: Endgame (On Demand) – Jesse Metcalfe is back as Chase Carter the reporter who broke the story about Zombrex and the military and based on the video game. Two years have passed and Chase has entered the East Mission Quarantine Zone tracking his story still about the military and the zombies. The military has expanded to using drug dealers in and out of the quarantined zone in exchange for fresh subjects for experimentation. Chase gets the footage but starts the clock on the “Afterlife Project”. A fail safe for the military to kill all 1.5 million people who are infected and have the tracking devices implanted in them at the same time. Ultimately the military will release another zombie virus into the population for them to keep the experiment going. Chase with the help of his news team and his gun nut friend go through the infected city to get to the V.A. hospital to shut down the Afterlife Project from its source. Plus what is a zombie without Billy Zane as a crazy doctor experimenting on humans and zombies? A fun zombie video game adaption that goes unnoticed because it’s not called ‘Resident Evil’. I enjoyed both games but feel ‘Dead Rising’ is the superior zombie movie series thus far or until ‘Resident Evil’ gets rebooted as it needs to be? Zombie fans stop waiting for the next lame season of ‘The Walking Dead’ and live or die a little and take a chance watching these entertaining zombie flicks as I give this sequel 3 stars.

 

Alien Uprising (Blu-ray) – An alien film that is British, has Jean-Claude Van Damme for twenty minutes, and the aliens win? Okay you got my attention! Once all the power goes out and the military is fighting a losing battle against aliens a group of friends fight to survive and go visit Uncle JCVD… A little different and worth the watch for weird people like me and Jon Cross as I give it 2 ½ stars.

 

Any comments or questions please send to grossmoviereview@verizon.net or www.facebook.com/grossmoviereviews . Remember folks always support your local independent movie theater, independent video store, and independent filmmakers! It will keep horror alive………

You can always visit and see some past reviews, independent film news, or me ranting at: www.grossmoviereviews.com !!!

Don’t forget you can also hear Kyle Poling and me talking about horror flicks on a weekly basis on the Bloodbaths and Boomsticks podcast at: www.bloodbathspodcast.blogspot.com/

Plus you can always go to the greatest T-shirt place online or if you are in Texas visit the store of “Fast Custom Shirts” where T-shirt Joe is the only place you should purchase your horror T-shirts: Go to www.fastcustomshirts.com for details.

Creature Feature coming August 9th

0

Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6jYkI1FUMTI

 Creature Feature

Creature Feature Available August 9th, 2016

 

Five interwoven tales of terror, all taking place on one foggy Halloween night in Georgia. A babysitter learns a new appreciation for fine art and hard lesson about the consequences of being irresponsible and naughty!; a group of college kids stumble upon the mother of all Scarecrows; two teenagers are forced to steal from a cantankerous old hermit who has been known to howl at the moon; A murdered father hell bent on vengeance against his gold-digging wife and traitorous children; All of this Halloween fun brought to us by our guide, a London Gentleman known as…”Jack”.

 

Highlights:

  • Creature Features are a sub-genre of Horror, which were a staple in the 1960’s, cultivating a huge cult following to this day. Creature Feature is a true homage to the genre.
  • Directed by Chase Smith, Director of recent horror hits Realm of Souls, and Hollywood Nightmare, and the latest release from Spirit World Films.
  • Comic book Movies are huge right now!  Creature Feature is marketed, as well as produced to have a comic book feel, as the story progresses through each turn of the page.

 

 

About Brain Damage Films:

 

Since 2001 Brain Damage Films has been one of the largest and most respected independent horror film distributors worldwide. Our catalog of hundreds of horror and shock movies ranges from reality/shock classics like Traces of Death to newer, high quality independent features.

Brain Damage Films has fans around the world who know and appreciate our films. We’ve got a name for them: Gorehounds. Do you have a lust for graphic, bloody depictions of death or violence? How about the “three B’s” (Beasts, Blood, and Boobs)? Maybe you’re a connoisseur of shot-on-video, low-budget horror… Or an earnest filmmaker working your way up to direct the next Saw or Friday the 13th?

If any of these descriptions sound familiar, you might be a Gorehound!

 

 

 

 

 

Visit our Various label websites:

 

http://www.braindamagefilms.com

 

http://www.midnightreleasing.com/

 

http://www.emaximmedia.com/

 

http://www.acortinternational.com/

“Some Ghost Stories are Real.”

0

Blackburn

“Some Ghost Stories are Real.”

 Blackburn-UK-DVD-Cover-Lauro-Chartrand

Vancouver, B.C., August 4th, 2016: 3Brane Entertainment is pleased to announce that their horror film Blackburn will see more territories. Already slated for a North American release, this terrifying title will be distributed in the United Kingdom, on September 5th, 2016; Matchbox Films will handle the release. The film stars Lochlyn Munro (Poker Night), Jen and Sylvia Soska (American Mary), Sarah Lind (Wolf Cop), Emilie Ullerup (A Little Bit Zombie), and Calum Worthy. Developed from a script by Nastasha Baron, the film has been directed by Lauro Chartrand. A preview of the film’s multi-territory launch is available here.

The UK poster and synopsis reveal more of the Blackburn Asylum. Long since closed, its former residents roam the local woods. A forest fire and rockslide have forced more of these dangerous characters into the nearby town. And, five friends must find shelter, before they become targets of these monsters. Can they just survive the night?

In the UK, the film has been rated 15+. Also, the new poster hosts a unique tagline: “some ghost stories are real.” But, these ghosts are worse than anything supernatural. These terrors will be set upon the masses on September 5th, on DVD. This dark, horror story is not to be missed!

The official Synopsis: A forest fire and rock-slide trap five bickering college friends in a small Alaskan ghost town with a horrifying history. When they seek refuge inside the torched ruins of Blackburn Asylum, they must fight to survive as the angry inhabitants slaughter the friends one-by-one.

More details at Matchbox Films: http://www.matchboxfilms.co.uk/

Available for pre-orders, at Amazon: http://amzn.to/2aw5NdE

A fan page for the film: https://www.facebook.com/blackburnhorror/ On Twitter: https://twitter.com/BlackburnAsylum