Boston Film Family Releases Official Trailer For “Parts Unknown” Wrestling Horror Movie


Boston, MA, United States – March 10, 2018 – Boston Film Family, LLC, has released the official trailer – – of its upcoming feature film, “Parts Unknown”. The wrestling horror movie
will have its world premiere in Arlington, Massachusetts, on June 9, 2018.

Written, produced, and directed by Boston Film Family CEO Richard Chandler, “Parts Unknown” is the
story about how the infamous Von Strasser family (of professional wrestling fame) seek to violently
reclaim their notorious status through supernatural means despite being blackballed by forces within the
industry. The movie stars retired pro-wrestler/actor William DeCoff, pro-wrestling manager/actress Lizzie
Havoc, and Boston Film Family alumni Alexandra Cipolla, Alexander Hauck, and Sarah Michelle.
Legendary independent movie actress Melantha Blackthorne, who had a leading role in Chandler’s
feature film “Gilgamesh” (2014), returns in a smaller role while former pro-wrestler Jake “The Snake”
Roberts lends his vocal talents to the movie. Cameos are also provided by the indie tag team The Devil’s
Doormen as well as YouTube and podcast personality Brian Zane (of “Wrestling with Wregret” fame).

The movie was shot by Director of Photography Denez McAdoo, costumes were created by Jenny
French, and composer Andre Fernandea created the movie’s score.
Boston Film Family, LLC, is an award-winning Massachusetts-based independent film production
company that specializes in the creation of visual horror and grindhouse stories.
Its previous works include the featurette “Witch Hunt” (2016), the feature film “Gilgamesh” (2014), and
the webseries “Boston Massacre” (2012-2013).

For more information on Boston Film Family, LLC, the company’s homepage can be accessed at Facebook – or on the company’s website – .

The movie’s IMDb page can be found through the following link:




New York, NY – March 15, 2018 – Turbine Media Group in association with director John Landis present John Landis’ long out-of-print first feature film, the cult comedy SCHLOCK, in its Blu-ray world premiere in an exclusive dual-format mediabook Blu-ray/DVD worldwide-playable combo set limited to 2000 copies, releasing April 27th, 2018.

A love stronger, and stranger, than King Kong and Fay Wray! The long-slumbering banana monster Schlock wakes up after 20 million years and escapes from his cave, befriending a blind girl who thinks he’s a dog, and causes mass panic in the small town with a shocking bloody massacre setting the scene. Schlock tries to escape but the military is fast approaching…

This low-budget prelude to Landis’ brilliant career which includes ANIMAL HOUSE, THE BLUES BROTHERS, and AN AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN LONDON, SCHLOCK is an ingenious monster comedy filled with wild movie references and absurd gags, with the then 22-year-old filmmaker paying respect to some of his favorite films like KING KONG, 2001, THE BLOB, and FRANKENSTEIN. SHLOCK is also the beginning of Landis’ partnership with makeup artist extraordinaire Rick Baker, and early feature from the gifted artist

Now being released for the first time ever in high-definition from Turbine Media Group, this exclusive limited 2000-copy Blu-ray/DVD combo mediabook edition contains the main feature in full HD sourced from an all-new, detailed 4K frame-by-frame restoration on Region Code–Free Blu-ray for worldwide playback, and an NTSC SD 4:3 full-frame open-matte DVD version, just like in the good old days of VHS. The mediabook packaging features original artwork and a bound-in, fully illustrated booklet with rare pictures and new writing on the film in German and English.


– Exclusive new introduction by creator John Landis
– Exclusive newly shot interview with John Landis (approx. 41 min.)
– Vintage audio commentary by John Landis & Monster Maker Rick Baker (from the 2001 Anchor Bay DVD)
– Trailers from Hell clip: John Landis on SCHLOCK
– Original trailers (theatrical release, re-release, “Banana Monster” title, the original German 35mm trailer, and a new transfer of the German version)
– Original 1970s radio spots
– Bilingual edition: menus and booklet in English and German

Running time: approx. 79 minutes / Color
Audio: English & German – DTS-HD Master Audio 2.0 (mono)
Video: Blu-ray: 1.78:1 (1080p, 23.976fps)
DVD: 4:3 (720x480p, 29,97 fps)
Subtitles: English and German
Region code: Blu-ray (ABC Region Free) and NTSC DVD (Code 0)
Schlock – Blu-ray Edition

Schlock – Movie Trailer

Available for worldwide shipping through rakete-shop:



Okay folks if you are ready for something completely different from me this is the project you have been waiting for? The book (Tales from the Gross Side) is a collection of short horror stories that have been rolling around in my head, unfinished movie scripts, or story ideas. These stories have been something I have wanted to write for quite a while. And now I thought it was the right time for people to get a look inside my mind. This book is something I use to do in my high school days on a regular basis writing story after story. This perhaps helps give you the idea of you should always feel young and enjoy the scary things of life?  Yeah I am not the next Stephen King, Mike Watt, or Dean Koontz just an ordinary dude who believes beer and horror movies are a religion. As long as I am on this earth I will enjoy doing what I do!

Old you would go buy it now!

Tales from the Gross Side ($7 plus shipping)

First appearance will be Cinema Wasteland, April 6-8, 2018.

Second appearance will be Grossfest, July 28, 2018.

Gross Movie Reviews #431


Gross Movie Reviews #431


Unearthed & Untold: The Path to Pet Sematary (Blu-ray) – These days it seems a lot of documentaries are being made about horror films and such. Some deserve it? ‘Pet Sematary’ deserved it for sure for its impact on the horror genre. Honestly horror movie fans it was one of the better book to film adaptions of King’s. The Stephen King story that was brought to life by director Mary Lambert, she had a long journey and interesting one. The film came at the end of the “Slasher Era” and no studio wanted it to be made mainly because of the kid death in the story/script/movie. But with a strike looming at the time Mary Lambert and others took advantage of this and the rest was film history. The documentary takes a very in-depth look how it got from book to film but also how it’s one of King’s darkest books that scared him when he first wrote it. The filmmakers: John Campopiano and Justin White were just normal horror movie fans that felt they should do a documentary for the popular horror film. For several years the two tracked down everyone that had anything to do with the film. Plus there is loads of interviews with all the cast members involved sharing their stories of on and off set. I believe it was crucial having Mako Hughes talk about his experience and what he actually remembers of the project to make this the perfect documentary for ‘Pet Sematary’ fans. John and Justin went to great lengths to get all kinds of goodies any horror fan to enjoy this great documentary. The documentary is absolutely wonderful as I give it 4 out of 4 stars and can be found at .


Suspiria (Blu-ray) – A wild ride of a film about a young lady that goes to a prestigious dance academy. Once there strange happenings go down and the young lady begins to uncover secrets no one is meant to know. Meanwhile people begin disappearing and die in very beautiful but gruesome ways. You got witches, gore, and ARGENTO, a terrific combo. We all know the story and have seen the film countless times. But this new 2-disc Blu-ray is the one that had folks talking on the festival circuit and for good reason. This is the new 4K restoration of the original cut of Suspiria. Seriously horror fans this film should be used for the prime reason to buy a 4K television. The colors and its sharpness of how the film was meant to be seen are perfect. You don’t have to be the biggest Argento fan in order to want to have this new Blu-ray set. This version of Suspiria is stunning and makes you want all horror movies to look like this. Plus there are enough extras for you to just call off work and spend the day in ‘Suspiria-land’. From artwork, to the story of the colors in the film and the reason, to the interviews your mind will be blown away. I always enjoyed the film but was never an uber-fan of it but this two-disc set just made Suspiria that much better experience in my eyes as I give this 4 out of 4 stars and can be found at of course.



Path of Blood (Blu-Ray) – An animated feature done like the “South Park” pilot episode set in Japan 1614. With the war over samurai are displaced or just wandering the country and they are called “Ronin”. The movie centers on one samurai who doesn’t so much seeks to be paid for his services as much as he is curious about the world. He hears a story about a man who may be a demon or undead that is looking for an army. But many men have taken this adventure and have not come back to tell the tale of it. So Kazuo takes the dangerous road and risks life and limb to satisfy his curiosity of the stories of the evil in the mountains. Eric Power did amazing job with this movie and fans of animated stuff will be excited to get their hands on this package! I give the movie 3 out of 4 stars and can be found at .

Street Team Massacre (DVD) – Oh I had no clue what I was getting into but glad I watched this flick. This movie has moved into my great finds that include stuff like “Death Metal Zombies”, “Woodchipper Massacre”, “Holy Shit… Zombies”. But anyhow this 2007 independent film begins in a room full of people in lab coats in 1999. They have a college aged test subject who is there to test their energy drink and give them feedback for twenty bucks. He drinks a Mango energy drink and soon begins attacking all in the room. Several years go by and we are in the Eco-Elixir conference room present day where a new sales/street team person is going to be introduced to his co-workers. Excited for the struggling juice company he is excited to get out on the street until he and his team have a run-in with the Jock Juice crew on the beach. The Jock Juice team always seems to be one step ahead of the Eco-Elixir team until new guy comes up with an idea to go check out this unknown music jamboree in the mountains. Problem is there are only six or seven rednecks and the jamboree was only five minutes long. But unbeknownst to the team members their Eco-Elixir has been switched with the “Mango” test drink from years ago that causes changes in people and make them attack others. Now, you have biting rednecks with a uni-brow trying to kill both energy drink teams. Its cheesy, stupid, has Lloyd Kaufman looking at a ‘Gorillas in the Piss’ magazine, Roddy Piper selling energy drink out of his driveway, and George Hardy as I am all in as I give this 3 ½ out of 4 stars.


VHS Massacre (DVD) – A great documentary about a couple podcast dudes in the New York area who take upon themselves to discuss the decline of physical media. They started in 2012 with the film and completed sometime in 2014 which helps as they show video stores galore closing down as they discuss the subject with the likes of Lloyd Kaufman, Debbie Rochon, and Joe Bob Briggs. You get to see some old school VHS and Beta commercials along with the DVD infomercial that invaded VHS in the mid-90s. The documentary takes a more serious tone discussing the pros and cons of where movies are going and what it means for certain filmmakers and companies. I give the documentary 4 stars, great stuff guys.


Fangs (DVD) – This 1974 movie might not be known for its “Fangs” title as much as it being called “Snakes” when hitting the VHS back in the day. But this little weirdo film is about Mr. Snakey Bender who keeps several different snakes as pets and buys mice off the kids every Wednesday to feed the snakes. Besides the cute school teacher having a bizarre relationship with the snakes and Mr. Bender, the preacher is fucking with his business. Soon the little Texas town believes old Snakey should just drive his clunker to the farm and never come back to town. But Snakey has a different thought as he kidnaps those who wronged him and lets the snakes do all the work for him. In the end this makes him happy. The 70s film is weird and has enough strange shit that it will make you want to watch it again as I give it 3 stars.


Another Wolfcop (Theater) – Lowell Dean finally gives me the sequel not only I wanted but all Wolfcop fans. Lou is still on the prowl but these days during a full moon Sheriff Tina believes it would be better that Lou is locked up. Busy drinking and having his usually ‘Liquor and Donuts’ baker dozen as they are the official sponsor of Wolfcop. Of course Lou doesn’t listen and gets out and after an incident; Tina has to take lip from the mayor (Kevin Smith) about a Wolfcop running around town.  After a night of the usual chaos and Lou taking a truck back because its evidence he finds his dead friend or reborn friend/shape shifter Willie in a present. So the old tag team is back, maybe as Wolfcop has come against a new robotic foe that was built by a scientist controlled by Sidney Swallows. Swallows plans on getting the local folk drunk on his new cheap beer ‘Chicken Milk Stout’ then killing them at the hockey game. Honestly I am not making this up as Willie now has a mutant dick that smokes weed with him. Willie also has a werewolf sister who bangs Lou and has six tits! And apparently snorting moon rock is like steroids for werewolves. This beautiful mess is all mashed together in a 82 minute sequel that is just as much fun as the original. See it now as I give it 4 stars.


Incredible Shrinking Woman (DVD) – Lily Tomlin is Pat Kramer a loving wife who does everything for the kids while the husband works away on selling products. Pat is exposed to the right mixture of chemicals and suddenly begins to shrink. Her family is suffering because they are unsure what is going to happen to her until one day they believe she is dead after falling into the garbage disposal. But it just so happens a group of people are hell bent on using her for tests so they can shrink everyone down in the world and takes it over. With the help of a gorilla Pat is able to escape and let her family know she didn’t die just yet as she becomes a national story. A very hilarious take on the 50s film “Incredible Shrinking Man”. I give it 3 stars.

Midnight Movie Massacre (DVD) – The film began in 1984, supposedly finished in 1986, and wasn’t released until 1988 and also known as “Attack from Mars”. Cannot see this film being that bad? Read a few articles about the film supposed to be released in 1986 but there was no explanation to why not? Anyway the movie takes place in 1956 where several people go to the theater to go watch a flick called, “Space Patrol”. Meanwhile, a real Martian lands from Mars to slowly murder people in the theater until the patrons eventually fight back and the Martian is eaten by a fat woman. I give this real B-movie 2 stars for the mere reason I laughed several times watching this flick.


Any comments or questions please send to grossmoviereview@verizon.netor . Remember folks always support your local independent movie theater, independent video store, and independent filmmakers! It will keep horror alive………

Don’t forget you can also hear Kyle Poling and me talking about horror flicks on a weekly basis on the Bloodbaths and Boomsticks podcast at: also available at


Plus you can always go to the greatest T-shirt place online or if you are in Texas visit the store of “Fast Custom Shirts” where T-shirt Joe is the only place you should purchase your horror T-shirts: Go to for details.


Oh it’s real and it’s happening… GROSSFEST! July 28, 2018! Go check out for all the details! 


Gross Movie Reviews #430


Gross Movie Reviews #430


Gnome Alone (DVD) – A wonderful B-movie starring Vern Troyer as an “evil gnome” who is part of a curse and a mark that has been passed down through several generations. You wish for someone to be horribly disfigured this ugly gnome goes and takes care of it. When an old bag lady is run down by a drunken frat boy Zoe a store clerk has the mark/evil gnome passed on to her. Wanting revenge and police not helping people that were involved with the accident and the cover up begin to die and Zoe is the one to blame. It’s hilarious and corny and well worth curiosity as I give the pint-sized horror flick 2 ½ stars.


The Traveler (DVD) – So this movie from filmmaker Jonathan R. Skocik came to me in the mail the other day. Never mind it surprised me but it was an independent film I pooped all over back in 2006. So I took it as a sign that it was time to rewatch this Indy film and give it another chance. It is supposedly an all-new director’s cut of the film being released. Can’t hurt… But for those who don’t know the film it centers on a couple who have car troubles and find themselves at the ‘death house’ looking for help? But a few other people are already there to hang and do graffiti. To their surprise a stranger shows up explaining the only way to leave the house is to be the only one left. Each time he shows up they must vote on who dies. Of course their deaths are not swift but very torturous. As usual not my cup of tea or Indy flick but I can say this isn’t the worst movie I have seen as I said in 2006 as other horrible films have been released since: “The Christmas Season Massacre” being one of them. The acting isn’t terrible, some of the effects are good, but in the end I still don’t like the film too much. But hey people go check it out and you decide if I am right as you can find out more about the movie and the filmmaker at: .


The Lonely Ones (DVD) – A group of young friends head to a cabin to party and tell scary stories to each other. Some strange creatures or I should say ghouls show up to crash the party. Sounds like a fun horror film but fails as the film is a bit dull. It wastes a lot of time setting up the story between a cheating boyfriend and the girl he is trying to get back with. The ghoul idea and the weird biker dude is interesting but again the whole relationship thing drags this horror to a slow haul. For that I can only give this flick about ghouls 1 star.

Robowar (DVD-R) – Oh Vincent Dawn aka Bruno Mattei I so enjoy the messes you call movies. Don’t walk but run to your computer for this 1988 gem as Mr. Dawn pretty much made a scene for scene ‘Predator’ rip-off. Yeah, it’s not as good as that great flick with Arnold but this stars a racist robot! A strike force is sent into the jungle on a secret mission where they are to face-off with a robotics experiment gone wrong. Omega One is the robot’s name and looks like a cross between Charlie Sheen’s suit from “The Wraith” and a suit they may have stolen from Full Moon’s “Mandroid”. When Omega One isn’t destroying the strike force its busy wandering the jungle repeating, “Greasy” the whole time. A big flaming piece crap? Yes it is! Will I watch it again? Damn right I will as I give it 3 stars just because I am still laughing.


Pulse (DVD) – Little Joey Lawrence goes to visit his dad in California for the summer. Only problem Joey wasn’t there to be haunted by a smart pulse of electricity trying to kill him and move on to the next house. Joey spends much of the movie trying to convince his father and other people it’s real until some major accidents happen. Then we have one last showdown between the pulse of electricity and the tag team of Joey and his father. If you are a fan of TV horror movies you will enjoy this as I give it 2 ½ stars.


Axe Massacre (DVD) – A holiday horror short film where a masked Santa Claus climbs down the chimney unannounced to slaughter a family on the holy night. Fun stuff and looks cool but why did he do it and why the mask? I give this short film 1 ½ stars.


Machete Maidens Unleashed (DVD) – An amazing documentary that features what it was like to shoot and produce films in the 60s, 70s, and early 80s in the Philippines. Sets were built for you, labor was cheap, no laws enforced there, and Roger Corman took full advantage of this situation to produce many films and start several careers. A good portion of the documentary deals with the actresses of this time, one of them being Pam Grier who also took full advantage of the opportunity. Lots of Sid Haig and they explain why the age of filming in the Philippines went away. I give this excellent piece of history 4 stars.


Trailer War (DVD) – This collection of trailers really centers on some unknowns and B-movies favorites that feature Craig Sheffer, David Carradine, Donald Pleasence, Henry Silva, Hal Holbrook. This collection digs deep in the vault for films like: Inframan, The Dungeon Master, World War of Kung Fu, The Man From Hong Kong, Force: Five, Maniac Cop 2, Partners, Nightmare Honeymoon, The Scaremaker, and Shoot. If you got two hours to kill and enjoy watching trailers this is the DVD for you as I give it 3 stars.


Any comments or questions please send to grossmoviereview@verizon.netor . Remember folks always support your local independent movie theater, independent video store, and independent filmmakers! It will keep horror alive………

Don’t forget you can also hear Kyle Poling and me talking about horror flicks on a weekly basis on the Bloodbaths and Boomsticks podcast at: also available at


Plus you can always go to the greatest T-shirt place online or if you are in Texas visit the store of “Fast Custom Shirts” where T-shirt Joe is the only place you should purchase your horror T-shirts: Go to for details.


Oh it’s real and it’s happening… GROSSFEST! July 28, 2018! Go check out for all the details! 

Gross Movie Reviews #429


Gross Movie Reviews #429


Vengeance Runs Red (Vimeo) – A short film from filmmaker Philip Brocklehurst that tells the story of two who men who are haunted by a past mistake. A young dude takes upon himself to serve justice that is due. I give it 2 ½ out of 4 stars. Want to find out more go here:


War of the Dead (DVD) – The film isn’t horrible but it’s not great either. The film is just another run of the mill Nazi zombie flick that isn’t very memorable. Sorry horror folk no “Outpost”, “Dead Snow”, or “Frankenstein’s Army” here. Just keep moving along as I give this flick 1 ½ stars.


The Rezort (DVD) – Another fun take on the zombie genre from the UK I believe? Ten years has passed since some worldwide virus turns millions of humans into zombies. The antidote was introduced to everywhere except one island. This island has now become a ‘Jurassic Park’ of zombies where some big corporation got the idea of if you got the money they have the zombies to shoot and kill. But no one thinks how are they resupplying the stock of zombies? The story mainly revolves a woman whose father was killed during riots when the zombie virus first started to spread. She believes going to this island will get her over her nightmares and fears? Once there she has faced her fears but wasn’t counting on the zombies getting loose in the park and begin feasting on all vacationing there. Now, she and a small group of others have five hours to get off the island before the military levels the island! A wildly entertaining zombie flick folks as I give it 3 ½ stars.


Nemesis 3: Time Lapse (VHS) – I got bored and decided to fall down the Albert Pyun wormhole again and watched these not needed sci-fi sequels that feature Tim Thomerson and Sue Price. In this mid-90s sequel Sue Price is searching out and destroying cyborgs as Tim Thomerson keeps a watchful eye over her for Central Command. Central Command wants her alive at all costs. Really folks not a whole lot happens in this flick but if you are a Tim Thomerson fan I totally get why you would track this bad boy down as I give it 1 ½ stars. The film also is known as “Nemesis 3: Prey Harder”.


Nemesis 4: Cry of Angels (VHS) – Albert Pyun brings back Sue Price one more time for what I like to call “Nemesis 4: Sue Price Bangs all the Cyborgs”. Never mind Andrew Divoff’s head speaks about cyborg non-sense throughout the movie. Sue Price’s goal in 2080 apparently is to be naked and bump uglies with all the cyborgs and then kill them. I believe the alternative title to this flick was actually “Hardbodies 3”? But that couldn’t be confirmed or denied at this time. But the gist of the flick this time around is Price’s character fucked up at some point and now there are Hunters all over her naked muscle bound ass! It wasn’t a great flick but it was a hell of a lot more interesting than the last sequel where she sat in a desert for about 75% of the damn movie. I give the flick 2 stars and you may also find this movie under the title “Death Angel” in some countries…

Swiss Army Man (DVD) – Possibly the most bizarre, completely entertaining, and glorious film you will ever watch in your life. I do not say that lightly. Daniel Radcliffe said it best on a late night talk show, “It’s a film about farting, erections, and a dead guy.” If you do not find that funny: one, this isn’t the film for you and two, you are most likely dead inside? The film begins with a young man played Paul Dano who is trapped on a small island trying to hang himself until he sees a dead body wash up on shore. Its Manny aka Daniel Radcliffe and once he begins farting Dano’s character rides him across the water to freedom and onto an adventure that will blow your mind. They become friends, eat out, share stories, start fires, and fight a bear. You get the picture? If you haven’t witnessed this film yet make it so because the ending makes the movie even more bizarre and fun. I give this hilarious flick 4 stars farting all the way.


Avenging Force (DVD) – One of Michael Dudikoff’s better action flicks outside of the “American Ninja” saga. Dudikoff’s buddy, Steven James of course is running for senate. Until some rich white racist dudes with their leader John P. Ryan decide to kill him and his family. On top of that they make Dudikoff play “Surviving the Game” eight years before Ice-T did! This 80s action flick will satisfy your action flick hunger if needed as I give it 3 stars.


Love Eternal: The Silent Film Cut (YouTube) – Forte Films Entertainment as at it again flaunting their filmmaking talents with a cool throwback short film version of Dracula and Mina. Done their way they give ‘silent era film buffs’ a tasty treat. Wonderfully done this filmmaking group needs more support and money because I would love to see these guys making a couple features a year. I give this fun treat 3 out of 4 stars and you can find out more at: .

Explorers (DVD) – Holy crap folks I do not know how I missed this 1985 flick starring Ethan Hawke and River Phoenix. This was so in my wheelhouse. But after reading some of the info on it and how it was considered a flop maybe somehow it fell off my cable watching radar as a kid? Apparently this movie was over 3 hours long and I believe Paramount Studios were like “nope”, not happening Joe Dante. The film is reportedly unfinished but a finished product. Very strange stuff but anyway folks the story centers on Ethan Hawke who has a weird dream about aliens and an image. He draws it and shows it to his best friend who of course is the nerdy kid down the street doing experiments in his basement. Hawke’s character continues to have these weird dreams and once his two friends become a part of it and his nerdy best friend uses a computer to make a bubble they decide its plans for a spaceship. The spaceship consists of a trash can, an old carnival ride, microwave doors, and a computer in the movie that didn’t exist in reality but was built just for this movie. They fly around and fuck shit up until Dick Miller finds them and eventually go off planet to meet the aliens. Really not too much to the movie but it is a fun glorious kick in the ass of childhood if you are a 80s kid? I give the entertaining film 3 stars.


Any comments or questions please send to grossmoviereview@verizon.netor . Remember folks always support your local independent movie theater, independent video store, and independent filmmakers! It will keep horror alive………

Don’t forget you can also hear Kyle Poling and me talking about horror flicks on a weekly basis on the Bloodbaths and Boomsticks podcast at: also available at


Plus you can always go to the greatest T-shirt place online or if you are in Texas visit the store of “Fast Custom Shirts” where T-shirt Joe is the only place you should purchase your horror T-shirts: Go to for details.


Oh its real and its happening… GROSSFEST! July 28, 2018! Go check out for all the details! 

Two new episodes for your listening pleasures


This week we welcome back our good buddy Jon Cross to the show to talk about one of our favorite subjects DONALD PLEASENCE in HALLOWEEN 6, TREASURE OF THE YANKEE ZEPHYR, and DOUBLE TARGET.  We also chat about missing Rutger Hauer in the new Blade Runner flick,  A brief history of The X-Files, Kyle falls down a Verne Troyer based YouTube wormhole, Vietnam flicks,  The awesomeness of Paul L. Smith,  Mothra hatred, and most importantly DONALD god damn PLEASENCE!!!!

This week Tim and Kyle get together to discuss a movie that is a hotly contested subject out there in internet land in THE SHAPE OF WATER.  Also we chat about a flick that could be called Victorian Ghostbusters in WINCHESTER.  And a flick about a killer clown before the glut of killer clown movies that we are getting now these days in AMUSEMENT.  Also we discover Kyle’s extreme hatred of Michael Shannon, Destroyed bathrooms, CHUDS, and other nonsensical garbage.  So enjoy!

3 Rivers Comicon announcement!


3 Rivers Comicon, hosted by New Dimension Comics, has commissioned a custom beer by Helltown Brewing featuring original bottle label art from Witchblade and will host a bottle release party  on May 19, 2018 .

“Every year the beer gets more amazing for 3 Rivers Comicon .”, says Todd McDevitt, owner of New Dimension Comics and promoter of 3 Rivers Comicon.  “For our 3rd year, I’m excited to partner with Top Cow to bring Witchblade to our custom beer.  Plus, when legendary painter Joe Jusko signed on to lend his brush the label, I knew the perfectness of this project was complete.”


The exclusive beer will be brewed by Helltown Brewing, based in Mt. Pleasant, PA.  Witchblade Barrel Aged Russian Imperial Stout with be brewed with coffee added this year.  “For the last 2 years, Helltown made a secret, small batch coffee variant for our beer release party during the convention. “ says McDevitt. “Barrel aged coffee beers are my personal favorite and I wanted to share my joy with everyone this year.  Helltown is my choice to create this custom brew for the 3rd year because they do such great, delicious work!”   This beer will only be made exclusively for 3 Rivers Comicon and New Dimension Comics.


May 19th at 7:00  is the bottle release party at 3 Rivers Comicon in West Mifflin.  Top Cow President Matt Hawkins and artist Joe Jusko, will be on hand to autograph bottles.  Tickets at $39.99 include weekend admission to 3 Rivers Comicon, catered food, and free samples of the custom beer.  Or, fans can catch up with previous years bottles with the Triple VIP ticket for 69.99 and go home with a bottle from all 3 years.


About 3 Rivers Comicon : The annual comic convention will be held  May 19-20  at  3075 Clairton Rd., West Mifflin, PA.   Bringing comic creators, fans, and vendors together for a true comicon in Pittsburgh. Website:


About New Dimension Comics: New Dimension Comics is the Pittsburgh region’s largest comic book specialty retailer chain, with 6 locations: Butler, Ellwood City, Cranberry, Century III Mall, Pittsburgh Mills Mall, and Ohio Valley Mall.  Created by Todd McDevitt when he was just 17 years old, the chain has delivered the world of comics to fans since 1986.  Website:

Gross Movie Reviews #428


Gross Movie Reviews #428


Groundhog (YouTube/DVD) – A popular news anchor for Channel 13 is in a horrible accident that kills her on the way back from a small town ‘Groundhog Day’ celebration. Her cameraman/boyfriend Logan witnesses the tragic event and has trouble forgiving the groundhog. For the past five years Logan has used drugs and therapy to help him cope with the tragedy. Logan keeps having horrific gory visions of his dead girlfriend that is beginning to drive him out of his mind. The holiday is upon us again and Logan has finally lost his shit and has made the decision to go on a killing spree all the way back to that small town. Well of course to go kill that demented groundhog that started this whole mess. Can Logan be stopped as he leaves a bloody mess all the way to the groundhog’s doorstep? First, it’s a holiday horror flick so you had me interested right away. Second, I really enjoyed James Balsamo’s cameo. Third, someone is using a NES Duck Hunt gun in a scene. Fourth, the independent film has its flaws but David McDonough and crew kept it bloody and entertaining as I give this fun holiday horror flick 3 out of 4 stars. For more about the film go check out: .

Slaughter Drive (DVD) – Ben Dietels independent film tells the story of a man named Doug who is a filmmaker. Doug gets home feeling like a failure when his last film doesn’t go over well only to be greeted by his soon-to-be ex-wife bumping uglies with another man. With things this bad Doug tries to get past his troubles and start on his next project which has him setting up his camera in the local park. While there friends convince Doug to leave the camera and go drinking with them. Some hours pass and Doug heads back only to be confronted by a stranger who says nothing and runs off. Doug comes to regret leaving his camera in the park later as this stranger maybe his new weirdo neighbor who is killing off Doug’s friends. When Doug watches the footage of what his neighbor done Doug tries his ass off to convince police and his two best friends that he is living next to a crazed killer! It is crude, hilarious, and rough around the edges kind of slasher with some excellent effects work. It also helps many Yuengling bottles make it into scenes along with someone mentioning their buckeye in conversation… I give this hilarious film 3 ½ out of 4 stars.  Find out more at .


Star Wars: Rogue One (On Demand) – So they went and did another prequel… But a one-off no less… And it was good. Basically if you ever wondered how or who help build the Death Star and why Darth Vader started chasing Princess Leia across the universe here is your answer. It may not have that charm of the original three but this movie did give me “A New Hope”. I give it 3 stars.


Star Wars: The Last Jedi (Theater) – So Rey has found Luke Skywalker hoping he will save the universe? Instead he is old and still pissed that the wannabe Darth Vader kid is lame. While the First Order is destroying the Resistance, Rey learns she has abilities stronger than anybody anticipated. After believing the Jedi should just die out at last minute Luke does best “Old Ben” imitation. Just like “The Force Awakens” it’s a fun reminder what the “Star Wars” universe can be as I give it 3 stars.


Black Panther (Theater) – Bottom line Marvel movie fans Black Panther’s universe is much bigger than you can imagine and how much it will impact the next “Avengers” flick. For the most part this is an origin story of the character and has a kick ass villain to boot. The Black Panther isn’t all about staying hidden but believes the world needs help but first he must save his kingdom from his cousin. A cousin that was abandoned in America and not brought home after his father’s death. The film is absolutely wonderful and the landscapes are just beautiful. Marvel should be proud of the job they did with this fun film because it stands in my top five Marvel films to be rewatched over and over again. Now do me a favor and give me another damn “Blade” movie for the love of Wesley Snipes! Saying that this comic book movie is a must see as I give it 4 stars.


Justice League (DVD) – Once again I just feel like the DC universe rushed this story along. With Superman dead and Steppenwolf (who?) coming back to reclaim the planet Batman and Wonder Woman believe it is time to start a super team? Of course this team struggles until Superman is reborn and begins kicking ass. The movie isn’t good or bad it just exists. Now saying that again they can do no wrong with the Wonder Woman character but the film just felt forced they could have done this another way? It also feels like they tried not to fail instead of trying to take a chance with this team-up flick. Either way I will keep watching as they churn them out and just hope they do better with the Justice League world as they go on? I give the film 2 ½ stars.


Big Bad (DVD) – A lower budget off the radar monster flick that involves some teenagers involved with a school fundraiser that has them staying overnight at the old Marion County jail. Unbeknownst to them their teacher has decided to make them bait for a beast-like creature he has been tracking for decades. When he gets roughed up and leaves the kids for the next meal it is up to the three teenagers to escape the jail and the beast and find some help. It is a pleasant cornball-type of monster flick that I believe will appeal to most horror movie fans. Weird bloodthirsty creature, the jail being real, and teenagers making fun of each other about their cell phones or not bringing it. I love finding stuff like this as I give it 3 stars.


Hot T-shirts (YouTube/VHS) – A sex comedy about a guy named Joe who runs a bar that is about to go out of business??? Until, Joe decides to have a wet T-shirt contest on a nightly basis. And pretty much ¾’s of the film is wet boobs from 1980 so enjoy as I give it 2 stars. If nothing else besides boobs watch it for the hilarious bad bar fight.

Wastelander (Vimeo/DVD) – Sorry folks it’s not a documentary for one of the longest running horror movie conventions out there Cinema Wasteland. But it is still something unexpectingly cool. A post-apocalyptic flick directed by Angelo Lopes set in the distant future. A man known as ‘Wastelander’ or Rhyous is searching the wasteland for E.D.E.N. Many believe it doesn’t exist, many just want the tech, and Rhyous is searching for it for answers. With the world dying around him this quest consumes but there is others that what his attention. When Rhyous disagrees with all because they don’t info he seeks he becomes a marked man in the wastelands. The film gets bonus points for the pseudo-Interceptor that should have been used more and understanding the point of fun post-apocalyptic flicks of the past. Honestly I am surprised we haven’t had more films like this like we did in the early 80s when some nut had their finger on the button. The only thing missing that could have made this better is Fred Williamson and being made in Italy. Mr. Lopes I say, “Bravo my friend.” This film fits right in with the likes of: Future Hunters, The New Barbarians, 2019: The Fall of New York, etc. Hell I can easily see this being a SyFy Channel feature? Anyway thank you Mr. Lopes for not disappointing me as I give this cheesy post-apocalyptic film 3 out of 4 stars. For more details check out: .


Any comments or questions please send to grossmoviereview@verizon.netor . Remember folks always support your local independent movie theater, independent video store, and independent filmmakers! It will keep horror alive………

Don’t forget you can also hear Kyle Poling and me talking about horror flicks on a weekly basis on the Bloodbaths and Boomsticks podcast at: also available at


Plus you can always go to the greatest T-shirt place online or if you are in Texas visit the store of “Fast Custom Shirts” where T-shirt Joe is the only place you should purchase your horror T-shirts: Go to for details.


Independent horror fans it is coming… GROSSFEST! July 28, 2018! Go check out for all the details! 

Wastelander Faces a Horrifying Future World this February 20th on Digital Platforms!


West Hollywood, California (Monday, February 19th, 2018) – Angelo Lopes’ Wastelander has just completed a week long theatrical run, in Hollywood. Now, Wastelander is set to show on Digital platforms, this month. The film blends several genres together: action, sci-fi and horror. Influenced by films such as George Miller’s Mad Max (1979), The Bad Batch (2016)  and others, Wastelander stars: Brendan Guy Murphy, Jon Proudstar and Carol Cardenas. Indican Pictures will also release this exciting title, on DVD, this March. A preview of the Wastelander’s home entertainment releases are available here.

In the film, an ex-soldier wanders the wastes. Rhyous (Murphy) finds a group of survivors, in search of Eden. He agrees to help, but cyborg bandits roam the area. Rhyous must fight off The Scourge, if he ever wants to find peace, in this desolate future.


Wastelander will show through Digital platforms later this month. On February 20th, this action packed title will be available through platforms such as: DirecTV, Comcast, Sony Playstation, YouTube Moves and many more. This release will be followed by another, on DVD. This March 13th, Wastelander will create another dust-up on DVD, in an unrated format. The action continues in the desert with Wastelander throughout February and March!


The film’s official synopsis: In a post-apocalyptic landscape, an ex-soldier wanders in search of his lost home and family. He meets an odd collection of survivors including cybernetic humans who convince him to lead them through the wasteland while searching for the legendary safe haven, Eden.  But when a band of pillaging raiders called The Scourge hunt them – they must fight to survive in this cruel dystopia.

Release Date: February 20th, 2018 (Digital) and March 13th, 2018 (DVD).

Director/writer: Angelo Lopes.


Cast: Brendan Guy Murphy, Jon Proudstar, Carol Cardenas, David Morden, Sian Vilaire & A. Stielstra.


More details at Indican:


A fan page for Wastelander:


Available here, on Amazon (Digital):


About Indican Pictures: Indican Pictures acquires and distributes feature films to a broad range of entertainment outlets by providing a diverse selection of movies across: theatrical, home video, TV, VOD, PPV and streaming platforms.