Send your film to Grossfest!

0

Grossfest Film Contest

Hey independent filmmakers you have a feature length film or a short film that you are thinking about sending to festivals? Well, we are looking for them for Grossfest 2018! Here are the rules:

 

First, we need a physical copy of the film to qualify.

Second, no fee for entering the film except the shipping charges you will have to pay to get the film to us.

Third, this does not guarantee the film will play at Grossfest. Why? We have a limited amount of time. Come on people it’s a one day event. Tim Gross will be picking the best feature and best short film and they will receive the first ever Grossfest movie award. Also all films will be reviewed and show up on www.grossmoviereviews.com . Like the film or not Tim will still review it.

Fourth, this begins October 31, 2017 and all entries need to be in or postmarked by May 28, 2018. This is so proper time can be given to review the movie and decide the winners. The winners of best feature and best short film will be shown at some point between 11am – midnight July 28, 2018 during Grossfest. Hopefully we will have a schedule of the films playing a few weeks before Grossfest?

Any questions can be sent to grossfest@gmail.com . Or contact Tim Gross on Facebook www.facebook.com/grossmoviereviews for where to send it.

Advertisements

The latest announcements for Grossfest!

0

For our fourth guest announcement for Grossfest, I would like to introduce a young and upcoming author who has written two books recently “Soul of Fire” and “The Hatred Within”. A huge horror movie fan and the tattoos to prove it he consumed himself with writing these first two books and creating something readers were afraid to put down without finishing it to the end. His excitement and passion for not just the horror genre but for writing is something horror fans will be drawn too when meeting him. This is why it’s my pleasure to introduce author Terrence Main and expect more to come from this young man.

For our fifth guest announcement for Grossfest, “Is a man usually seen as the half-human/half-sasquatch movie mascot “Sascratch”? Probably he is best known for writing/directing the bodily-fluid-humor-infused Italian horror homage “The Italian Zombie Movie” a few years back. Since then, he’s been a busy indie horror film contributor, producing, composing soundtracks, editing horror features and creating miniature effects – Next up for Sascratch is a new feature “The Giant Rubber Monster Movie 2” – homage to giant monster TV shows like “Johnny Sokko’s Flying Robot”, scheduled for a 2018 release!” You can call this person the “Swiss Army Knife” of independent filmmaking and Michigan proud. His imagination is absolutely endless and his creations are brilliant as I would like to introduce Thomas Berdinski.

For our sixth guest announcement for Grossfest 2018 and his first ever convention appearance as a guest is a filmmaker that has had me excited about his films since I met him as a teenager working on an untitled film at the time. This kid showed me photos of movie shoots he had been doing that I described as something as impressive as Peter Jackson’s early work! No bullshit I told everybody about him and his movie until I had it in my hands… The film was “Welcome to Deer Creek” which in my review I called it “Dead Alive at a corn festival!” It was an absolute beautiful gorefest. He has gone on to make other films such as “Tonight You Die” and “Happy Horror Holocaust”. This filmmaker is proof of why I will watch anything in hopes of finding that next great filmmaker horror fans will know and love. His name is Jim Roberts and this announcement is something I have always dreamed about doing for the mere reason I believe Jim has the talent and passion to give horror fans something very cool every time out.

#grossfest

#grossfest2018

For more details on the event, guests, or hotel go to http://www.grossfest.com

Gross Movie Reviews #418

2

Gross Movie Reviews #418

 

Les Spookie aka Spookies (DVD) – So I had to do my own investigation on this latest copy of the horror film “Spookies”. This French version of the film set the internet ablaze for a few days sending fans in a frenzy talking about this so-called ‘2K transfer’ and ‘ultra-rare’ French version of the film we all know and love! Well folks I was right for calling “bullshit” on this. Not trying to be mean and not exactly happy with how I went about getting a copy of the film but I didn’t want to be down 20 bucks unless I am getting something totally legit and good. But bottom line it is the same version of the film whether you have the US VHS or UK DVD release. The biggest difference which I will give it credit for is its widescreen. Now saying that I have had a few film people aka directors and such explain that you could just take out the bars? Either way I believe this makes the movie a little more cleaned up without the real restoration process. So kudos to the dude in Quebec who figured this out, but sorry man the only extra on the DVD is a two minute reel of behind the scenes pictures from google images is bullshit. Going back to the widescreen of the film… This makes the film bigger. Thus showing more of what was shot so of course we get to see the tombstones a little better and some of the visual and make-up effects better. Cool beans! But it is the same print folks. I compared my bootleg copy, VHS copies, and UK version that pop up on YouTube to this French version: The scratches and slight lighting are all in the same spots. So its bullshit! French-Canadian dude I understand what you tried to do but you are no Synapse Films or a Shout Factory that may have the resources to do the proper restoration of this film. Now saying that Spookies fans if my sources are correct and I believe my podcast partner Kyle Poling and I trust them there is something in the works for a proper special edition release of this title. Don’t want to jinx it so my lips are sealed. Let’s just say Kyle, Parker Bowman, and I will have some possible involvement just because we are some retarded fans of the film Spookies. So I give this version of Spookies “BULLSHIT”! But thank you for trying anyway. And someone please explain 2K to me instead 4K is that some kind of only half trying to restore the film?

 

Scary Clown (YouTube) – A short Halloween film from multi-talented filmmaker Henrique Couto who tells a story of a girl on Halloween waiting for her man to come home. She enjoys the trick or treaters but falls asleep on the couch only to wake with her husband calling her but she believe he is already home? It just so happen to be a clown sitting right next to her. 3 stars for the quick scare!

 

Cult of Chucky (DVD/On Demand) – So the adult version of Andy Barclay is still fucked up in the head and trying dating life. After the date goes sour Andy goes back home to open a safe where he has Chucky’s head and begins abusing it as he has done hundred times before. It’s therapeutic for his fucked up life. The film then moves to Nica, the wheel-chaired bound woman who was blamed for killing her family over jealously over her niece. She is in the nuthouse for the past four years being convinced that the “Good Guy Doll” Chucky wasn’t the killer? Nica has made progress so her good doctor has moved her to a medium security nuthouse. Andy has kept watch of this situation since he was sent a Chucky doll and shot it at the end of the last installment in the franchise. And then this where we are reintroduced to the Jennifer Tilly/Tiffany character as she comes to visit Nica saying her niece died and leaves her a “Good Guy Doll” that just happens to be called Chucky. And shit gets real freaky when another doll named Chucky is introduced by the good doctor as we find out he isn’t such a good doctor… Soon multiple Chucky dolls are running around the nuthouse murdering everyone and let you in on why they haven’t killed Nica just yet? And this was all because of some weirdo cheapo voodoo website! Chucky for the new millennium has made its transition well and might be the best out of the 80s slasher icons as they truly have found some good ways to make sequels for the killer doll. And pay attention to the end as I thank yinz for keeping everyone and everything relevant from the series in these latest sequels as I give it 3 stars.

 

The Monster Project (DVD) – A couple YouTube dudes decide to go monster hunting or better yet casting real monsters for their show “The Monster Project”. They rent out an old creepy house on the night of a lunar eclipse to interview three people (a demon, a vampire, and a Skinwalker) they tracked down through Craigslist. Devin Adams truly wants this show to work as he casts his ex-girlfriend as the director and regulates his best friend as the camera guy. Devin isn’t worried too much whether or not they are truly monsters because he believes viewers will just eat it up anyway? But once the inner bullshit drama between friends is over with and the interviews get started that is when the film gets chaotic and fun. The monsters begin to mess with the crew and soon the crew is on the run throughout this locked old house being chased by real monsters. If that isn’t enough we get a strange Goat man shows up in different scenes as the crew is fighting for their lives against these monsters. The movie isn’t perfect by any means but it is a solid horror film mainly directed to horror fans under the age 30. It has this paranormal/found footage feel to it but never commits which I believe is good in some ways and has a really good twist ending. I give this film about monsters 3 stars.

Demon Mind (DVD) – An independent Russian horror flick! I was excited to check this gory mess out. From the minds of Philip Brockhurst and Alex Wesley comes a story about a demon that infects man. It starts with a sculptor and a skull that begins talking to him and trying to make him do things. Years pass and we are introduce to a character named Victor who goes to his local priest because he has evil inside of him and wants an exorcism? The priest wants money and Victor agrees because he wants the evil out of him as it has made him murder several times. But as Victor explains he massacres only people who have done him wrong like that makes it sort of right? But Victor started changing when he buys some old weapons off of a sketchy sword dealer aka Todd Mother Fucking Sheets! Once receiving these demon axes the demon grows inside of him and stabs his wife in the eyes, cuts off a dude’s face, and a murderous disgustingly gory rampage of a family. But with this story the priest cannot help as he has his own sins that need forgiven and Victor is completely fucked! It’s a wild and weird gore affair that has this fun early 90s shot on digital video feel to it as I give the independent feature 3 out of 4 stars.

Popcorn (Blu-ray) – Finally someone has brought an early 90s classic to the format the correct way. Synapse Films goes above and beyond with this Blu-ray and the “Steelbook” edition to give horror fans a horror movie they have been dying to have updated. The film itself is about film students who are going to put on an all-night horror movie monster fest to help fund their film department. They rent an old theater that is gonna be torn down in a few weeks and get all the old school props and gadgets from the heyday of theaters to use for the triple feature. But when cleaning up and getting the props out they find an old film “The Possessor” that was never finished. The story goes that the Charles Manson wannabe didn’t film the ending because he wanted it to be live as he sacrifices someone? Well a fire broke out killed the crazy dude and his followers and the film was believed to be lost… Until now? The students watch it and a student Maggie faints understanding that her dreams or film project she is working on is this movie “The Possessor” and the dude Lanyard Gates. So the movie fest begins and things seem to be going well until Maggie believes she sees Lanyard and tries to track him down. Meanwhile the students are being sliced and diced during the monster fest. Will Maggie find Lanyard or will he find her? It’s one of those movies within a movie said by some or the movie horror fans forgot about when “Scream” came out? Who knows but it is a great horror film that is cherished among the horror fan community and it’s nice to see “Popcorn” get a very pristine restoration job! The Blu-ray also has a 57-minute documentary of “Popcorn” about its problem with the ratings board, changing lead actresses at the last minute, changing directors, and money problems. Plus one fact I never knew about the film was it was shot in Jamaica. I just never noticed even when it was first released to theaters it had this weird feel to it like it wasn’t shot in California or on a stage somewhere but didn’t think twice to look it up? Just one those things for me at least it makes a lot of sense now watching the film and the background as it goes on all cleaned up.  Most of the great cast is in the documentary so a well worth watch along with the cool commentary. A great cast, a good amount of blood, a great story, and a great tagline makes this horror film a great movie to have in your collection and now even better one with the amazing job Synapse Films has done with it… 4 out of 4 stars for this 90s horror classic! For more details go to http://www.synapse-films.com .

 

Circus of the Dead (DVD/Theater) – This isn’t just another typical killer clown movie? This flick falls in my category of depressing, no hope, and just plain fucked up shit that will make you literally pass over the film for a couple years just so you can pass its shock value. A group of clowns who seem cool on the surface but are pretty screwed up things on the inside once we the audience gets to know them. These ordinary circus clowns like to pick out people from the crowd make them part of the show in more ways than one? They pick out this guy who just happens to be struggling with his marriage and his kids. Make him write down his address for some weird prize and the family thinks nothing of it until the lead clown “Papa Corn” played by Bill Oberst Jr. pays a visit. The wife happens to be banging a dude on the side so after pleasuring himself outside of the home Papa Corn and friends break into the home and kill the boy toy, torture the wife, and kidnap the kids. Now the father comes home to his dead wife and the clowns kidnap him to make him part of their show unwillingly of course. They torture him, make him watch Papa Corn facefuck his wife’s head, kill someone, and leave his fingerprints everywhere. These are some screwed up clowns. Once the clowns are done with him they leave him in his car with his two dead children in the back seat. The movie is a little long but also a little unnerving, screwed up, and brutal! Surprised I haven’t heard more about this film as there is a small but rabid crowd that will worship this horror flick as I give it 2 ½ out of 4 stars.

 

Any comments or questions please send to grossmoviereview@verizon.netor www.facebook.com/grossmoviereviews . Remember folks always support your local independent movie theater, independent video store, and independent filmmakers! It will keep horror alive………

You can always visit and see some past reviews, independent film news, or me ranting at: www.grossmoviereviews.com !!!

Don’t forget you can also hear Kyle Poling and me talking about horror flicks on a weekly basis on the Bloodbaths and Boomsticks podcast at: www.bloodbathspodcast.blogspot.com/ also available at http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/kyle-poling-2/bloodbaths-and-boomsticks?refid=stpr

Plus you can always go to the greatest T-shirt place online or if you are in Texas visit the store of “Fast Custom Shirts” where T-shirt Joe is the only place you should purchase your horror T-shirts: Go to www.fastcustomshirts.com for details.

Also you can pick up my new book “Gross Movie Reviews: More Sequels, More Massacres, More Beer” at: http://www.lulu.com/shop/tim-gross/gross-movie-reviews-more-massacres-more-sequels-and-more-beer/paperback/product-22853681.html

Independent horror fans it is coming… GROSSFEST! July 28, 2018! Go check out www.grossfest.com for all the details! 

Gross Movie Reviews #417

0

Gross Movie Reviews #417

 

Good Morning Carlos (Vimeo) – A short film from Brazilian filmmaker Gurcius Gewdner, that sets up a feature length film. Say that dude’s name a few times. The short film introduces the audience to Carlos, a man who apparently does not eat enough fruit and fiber according to his doctor. Carlos calls the poor doctor 4am crying and screaming then disappears throughout the city holding his stomach and puking disgusting cream corn. It’s weird, a little disgusting, but sets you up for the feature as I give this 2 ½ out of 4 stars.

 

Pazucus: Island of Vomit and Despair (Vimeo/DVD) – This is the 110 minute vision of the “Good Morning Carlos” fleshed out. Now it took me a little bit to understand what the hell was going on but I am a dumb American and chose to watch the feature before the short film. If I would have did it in reverse no problem. But anyway Carlos is having bowel issues and his doctor is not too happy with Carlos calling him in the middle of the night. As Carlos bleeds, pukes, and drools all over the local streets, Carlos’ doctor is busy stalking a grocery store and random people thinking they are Carlos. Once he has them he kills them in various ways as he keeps stalking Carlos. Meanwhile Carlos keeps puking his way to an island where folks are making out on the beach and partying. Here is where it gets a little weird not that this film wasn’t already a complete chaotic fun mess but while Carlos is wallowing in a poopy stream but an extra from “Cannibal Holocaust” finds him! This Amazon woman screams hugs, screeches, etc. at Carlos to help him with his shit monsters inside of him. Yes people, ‘Shit Monsters’ and they are the sign of the apocalypse! Once Carlos poops out the shit monsters they begin a killing spree including Carlos’ doctor. This film is amazingly very disgusting and not for the weak minded. It says in the credits it was inspired by Frank Hennelotter and Roger Corman but I would like to throw in a little Troma? My only real complaint with this crazy ass weirdness is I believe it could have found a happy medium between the short film running time and the feature length (110 minutes) running time but outside of that this film will find its audience as I give it 3 out of 4 stars.

 

Night Claws (DVD) – David A. Prior of S.O.V. “Sledgehammer” fame apparently made a Bigfoot film a few years back. It was pretty solid! Bigfoot stalks a small town Alabama woods and it’s pissed off and bloodthirsty. Small town sheriff struggling for answers begrudging allows Professor Sarah Evans along for the ride to help out. But as the bodies pile up and the professional hunter stalking Bigfoot it cause issues for the small town sheriff to stop the murderous rampage of the beast. Seriously the movie surprised me of how solid the story was as most lower budgeted Bigfoot movies are usually hot garbage. Not Mr. Prior’s vision, kudos to you sir and thank you as I give it 2 ½ stars.

 

Resident Evil: The Final Chapter (DVD) – If there is such a thing as hate watching I did it with every fucking entry into this stupid zombie series. We come to find out of course it all comes back to Raccoon City or now what looks like a rejected set from “The Walking Dead”. And Alice must rush back to ‘The Hive’ to get the airborne cure for the T-virus to save the world. One question: Can this series be remade now by someone that actually knows the video game characters and knows how to make a zombie movie or we gonna suffer a pseudo-reboot in about four years starting all over again with Mila? So again I give this crap as this might be the only thing I hate more than stupid fucking boring ass Mothra!

 

Foreword (YouTube) – A very good actor/director Michael McCallum’s latest short film that was entered into the Detroit 48 hour film fest. As usual Michael McCallum gives us a dramatic and smart short film in “Forword”. An author who has written much lately sends a postcard to himself that can change his life? I give it 4 out of 4 stars.

The Dark Side of the Womb (Vimeo/DVD) – The film begins with a woman giving birth and a nurse of course helping her along. Problem or usually isn’t but in this case it is as the woman is having twins. She doesn’t give a flying turd about the second child as the first child is a child of a war hero and should be cherished. The other should be thrown away? 30 years pass and the cool and good looking brother goes out to meet his girlfriend but instead meets death from two murderous clowns. Meanwhile, a bigger woman named Linda gives birth to an adult head but her boyfriend just fell and has caused brain death so head transplant by Dr. Hook’s best friend who does bizarre surgeries. And we get one of the greatest quotes from an independent film: Dr. Hook says, “I know a guy who does bizarre transplants!” So the ugly twin Ed and Linda meet at Doctor Hook’s office one day and it is love at first sight until Linda’s ex now a killer clown comes a knocking… The people that were casted as Ed and Linda were an absolute treat to watch. Sam Salerno’s feature is hilarious, bizarre, and ridiculous and I enjoyed it as I give it 3 out of 4 stars.

 

Twelve Pole (YouTube/DVD) – Sam Hodge set out to make an independent feature that has a group of innocent house flippers buying a house to fix up and sell. Seems like easy cash so after a quick decision they buy it but need someone to stay at the house and wait not only for them to bring tools back in a few days, but the electric guy, locksmith, etc. Will gets stuck staying there so he convinces his girlfriend to stay with him but after one night of strange noises and someone grabbing her she leaves. The guys get back a few days later and Will looks like shit but gets back in the groove after he buries some witchcraft shit he found. Or he thinks he buried all of it. The group of friends begins to turn on each other and just brutally mangle each other until there is only one of them left? The film is well structured and definitely has that fun creepy feel but it’s almost 105 minute running time needs cut down to 75 minutes in my opinion to keep that cool and creepy feel of the trailer for the flick. Sam Hodge and others made sure there are likable characters and great gore scenes but I believe the film needs condensed some as the conversations/dialogue do get dull. With that in mind it is a rough cut and I give it 2 ½ out of 4 stars.

 

Any comments or questions please send to grossmoviereview@verizon.netor www.facebook.com/grossmoviereviews . Remember folks always support your local independent movie theater, independent video store, and independent filmmakers! It will keep horror alive………

You can always visit and see some past reviews, independent film news, or me ranting at: www.grossmoviereviews.com !!!

Don’t forget you can also hear Kyle Poling and me talking about horror flicks on a weekly basis on the Bloodbaths and Boomsticks podcast at: www.bloodbathspodcast.blogspot.com/ also available at http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/kyle-poling-2/bloodbaths-and-boomsticks?refid=stpr

Plus you can always go to the greatest T-shirt place online or if you are in Texas visit the store of “Fast Custom Shirts” where T-shirt Joe is the only place you should purchase your horror T-shirts: Go to www.fastcustomshirts.com for details.

Also you can pick up my new book “Gross Movie Reviews: More Sequels, More Massacres, More Beer” at: http://www.lulu.com/shop/tim-gross/gross-movie-reviews-more-massacres-more-sequels-and-more-beer/paperback/product-22853681.html

Independent horror fans it is coming… GROSSFEST! July 28, 2018! Go check out the Facebook group for details: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1883916838523111   

 

Gross Movie Reviews #416

0

Gross Movie Reviews #416

 

Rage and Honor (DVD) – Cynthia Rothrock teams up with Richard Norton to kick drug dealers asses in this early 90s action flick. But Rothrock’s brother played by Brian Thompson is the mastermind behind all the drugs hitting the streets and ruining present day’s youth. It all boils down to a bad ass fight on top of a roof where Brian Thompson kicks both of their asses most of the fight. Fun stuff if you are a Rothrock or Brian Thompson fan, plus there is a sequel as I give this film 2 ½ stars.

 

Terror Birds (DVD) – Greg Evigan of “My Two Dads” fame has a grand plan when he finds some weird rare prehistoric bird on an island. His hope is to have a scientist played by Leslie Easterbrook figure out how the birds can successfully mate and the eggs survive? Six months pass and patients are thin until a man out bird watching gets accidentally eaten by the birds which set off a course of events that leads his daughter and friends to the sanctuary. Now the friends must fight their way off the land before they become the next meal. Hilarious random nonsense that I give 2 stars too.

 

Tekken: Kazuya’s Revenge (DVD) – Not exactly what was the end game of this flick but some dude with no identity is forced to be an assassin until he begins to remember a few things. I only watched it because I thought it was another video game adaption. It just might be but who cares, I’m old, it was kind of boring so let’s movie on as I give it 1 star.

 

Skinwalker Ranch (DVD) – Jon Gries is a man whose son disappears after some weird lights come by the farm. The film is a found footage film based on a true story of a place that is the new undocumented ‘Area 51’? Gries boy Hoyt disappears and several months later an independent crew of investigators comes knocking to try and figure out the mystery. Strange noises, ghost kid, giant wolf monster, and then aliens cause all the trouble. An interesting found footage film that I believe doesn’t want to totally commit to being a paranormal or alien flick but at least it was worth the watch. I give it 2 stars.

 

The Haunting of Whaley House (DVD) – Lynn Lowry is showing the ropes to a young college girl who has just landed a job as a guide to the most haunted house in America? While hanging out with friends they convince her to allow them to hang out in the house overnight since none of them really believe in ghosts? To prove it they bring a friend’s uncle who knows all about ghosts and spirits and try to communicate with the spirits in the house just to prove none of it is real. Once they do make contact they are locked inside and the Whaleys’ home and they would like their daughter back. But the young woman who has been working there does not want to go even if she does look like her. One by one the friends are destroyed by the ghosts until they have their daughter. Surprisingly this film is from Asylum Entertainment and there wasn’t any Sharknadoes, cheesy dialogue, or a giant snake. Just a pretty entertaining paranormal film which I do not say often as I give this film 2 ½ stars.

 

Scavenger Hunt (DVD) – A fun flick from 1979 that stars everyone except Burt Reynolds. A game maker Milton Parker (Vincent Price) is a millionaire from all the games he has invented for kids and families over the years. He dies in bed with his nurse playing one of his games so all his relatives close and distant come to the estate where they will be a part of a scavenger hunt? One last game that could land someone 200 million dollars! Even Mr. Parker’s help has a shot at it if they collect enough things on the list. This is one of many staples in cinema during the late 70s that got overused but usually seem entertaining when you were a kid. I give this cinema staple 2 stars.

 

It (Remake/Theater) – To be honest I wasn’t sure what to expect from this remake? The original film was a TV movie that sparked several TV projects adapted from King’s books in the early 90s. First half of the original was great and then the second half was total crap so I wasn’t totally sold on a remake. But in case you missed it Pennywise is an evil clown that roams the sewers of the small town Derry. Pennywise has been around since 1908 when some horrible egg hunt went wrong and many kids died. The town of Derry has had a very strange and twisted history as its death rate among children is more than the national average. Every 27 years he comes out to feed and take kids back to the sewers with him. But this time it’s different in 1989 almost a full year after Georgie died and his older brother wants answers. Along the way the kids are haunted by the evil clown as Pennywise wants to feed on them and their souls. The remake didn’t overthink the adaption and kept this horror flick creepy and entertaining as the kids make a pack at the end to come back if Pennywise every comes back to haunt the town of Derry. For me it was nice to see a very good horror flick from Hollywood that I wasn’t bitching about as I came out of the theater. If anything I am actually excited for ‘Chapter Two’ just to see if they can do a much better job than the 1990 version? I also believe this horror film creep out teenagers for years to come which is cool in my book as I give it 3 stars.

Moon Child (DVD) – Oh a lost gem from Todd Sheets in 1994 where he made a no budget, no problem post-apocalyptic flick. In this wasteland of a world people are dying from the plague and fighting the new government! A man named Jacob Stryker has escaped dark government scientists who were experimenting on him night and day. They of course want a new unstoppable soldier. Jacob just wants out in the world to go look for his son. The rebels want Jacob and his son on their side as they could be the answer for the plague. So there is a samurai/Stormtrooper dude with ninjas and bounty hunters trying to track down Jacob before he fully understands his hybrid powers. This movie is absolutely CRAPTASTIC! I love the mere balls Todd had just to try this type of film with not much money and just his passion to make it work. If anything this movie makes me respect Todd Sheets that much more because of the crazy car stunts that involve a Bronco II and a 1985 Plymouth Horizon. Oh and the main character turns into a werewolf also! This may not be his best work but this is the type of independent stuff I would like to strap to the face of some filmmakers to show it can be done with nothing but passion and the gore Todd Sheets is known for. I give it 2 ½ stars.

 

Any comments or questions please send to grossmoviereview@verizon.netor www.facebook.com/grossmoviereviews . Remember folks always support your local independent movie theater, independent video store, and independent filmmakers! It will keep horror alive………

You can always visit and see some past reviews, independent film news, or me ranting at: www.grossmoviereviews.com !!!

Don’t forget you can also hear Kyle Poling and me talking about horror flicks on a weekly basis on the Bloodbaths and Boomsticks podcast at: www.bloodbathspodcast.blogspot.com/ also available at http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/kyle-poling-2/bloodbaths-and-boomsticks?refid=stpr

Plus you can always go to the greatest T-shirt place online or if you are in Texas visit the store of “Fast Custom Shirts” where T-shirt Joe is the only place you should purchase your horror T-shirts: Go to www.fastcustomshirts.com for details.

Also you can pick up my new book “Gross Movie Reviews: More Sequels, More Massacres, More Beer” at: http://www.lulu.com/shop/tim-gross/gross-movie-reviews-more-massacres-more-sequels-and-more-beer/paperback/product-22853681.html

Independent horror fans it is coming… GROSSFEST! July 28, 2018! Go check out the Facebook group for details: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1883916838523111   

Guest announcements for GrossFest 2018!

0

Our first guest of Grossfest and one of my favorite filmmakers of all time is Todd Sheets! Or as I like to call him Todd “Mother Fucking” Sheets!

The man has a passion like no other for independent movie making. Todd Sheets is one of the few filmmakers out there that has been doing this since the shot on-video days! Todd is the link between new and old or from Jon McBride and The Polonia Brothers to Chris Seaver and Mike Watt to Jim Roberts and Dustin Wayde Mills. Mr. Sheets best known for his tidal wave of crazy zombie gore horror flicks “Zombie Bloodbath trilogy” has made many more since he started 30 years ago. Mr. Sheets has written, directed, produced segments for anthologies and has made other independent horror projects. But Todd is making waves again with his even more outrageously beautiful and different horror movie taste with projects such as: “House of Forbidden Secrets”, “Dreaming Purple Neon”, and “Bonehill Road”. Mr. Sheets shows no signs of slowing down. Mr. Sheets’ unmatched passion and love for the genre was a no-brainer to be the first guest for Grossfest. So it will be a great pleasure to have him at this one day event plus my inner 16 year old self will be doing cart wheels in the parking lot…

 

Our second guest of Grossfest is fresh face to the independent filmmaking world. Proud to present Nick Charles! Nick is an interesting person who for his first big project did a documentary about independent filmmaking called “B-Documentary”. He was able to get a few iconic people into the film and its impact of a film I believe is something all new independent filmmakers should check out before venturing out in the backyard, the woods, the abandoned property, etc. to start their first film. Nick has already a sequel just about finished and a couple other projects in pre-production. Nick’s excitement, passion, and just pure happiness of independent filmmaker is contiguous and again a pleasure to have at Grossfest!

Grossfest
Saturday, July 28,2018

The George Washington Hotel
60 S. Main St.
Washington, Pa. 15301
www.thegeorgewashington.com

 

Terror Films Releases Official Poster & Trailer for Horror/Comedy DIE LAUGHING

0

LOS ANGELES, CA (September 15th, 2017) – Bob Golub’s DIE LAUGHING is available today, on major digital platforms! Earlier in the week, Terror Films has announced it would be releasing comedian Golub’s deranged, docu-style horror/comedy DIE LAUGHING, with two movie clips. Now the genre distributor is unveiling the official poster and trailer, here!

The film stars and centers around real life actor/stand-up comedian Bob Golub. He doesn’t just kill the crowds with his jokes; he sometimes just kills them. He answers an online ad placed by a documentary filmmaker searching for people who have committed an actual homicide. Golub responds and insanity and murder ensue as we get an inside look at this funny guy’s demented, murderous, and darkly comedic world.

DIE LAUGHING is a completely improvised work from the minds of Golub and his filmmaking partner-in-crime, Mark Mannschreck. Inspired by the likes of the cult hit Man Bites Dog, this pseudo-documentary was shot over many months on the road with Golub using a single camera in a raw, cinéma vérité style.

Terror Films will release this film across multiple digital platforms. Platforms include:  iTunes, Amazon Instant/Prime, Google Play/You Tube, X-Box Live and many others.  The release begins with North America and will be followed by a worldwide digital release on iFlix.

The official trailer: https://youtu.be/8sEZw2ITK6Y

 

For more information on Terror Films, visit:

 

http://www.terrorfilms.net/film/die-laughing-9152017

 

https://www.facebook.com/TerrorFilmsLLC/

“Night Stalkers: Paranormal Investigators” Now Playing on Amazon Prime.

0

The Paranormal Documentary ‘Night Stalkers: Paranormal Investigators’ by Wayne Poe (Hotel Camarillo) is now available on Amazon Prime (USA/UK/Germany).

 

The feature-length horror doc is also available for digital rental on Amazon Instant Video for only $1.99.

 

The synopsis reads: “Ghost hunters in Southern California document the paranormal activity inside allegedly haunted locations including the Linda Vista Hospital, the Zalud House, the Anaheim White House, and the Suicide Bridge.”

 

The 59-minute investigation into the supernatural follows a group of California men and women dedicated to hunt and document the paranormal activity around them.

 

Night Stalkers’ can be streamed now for free with Amazon Prime here: http://amzn.to/2wVz9eG

 

Trailer Link

https://youtu.be/mwJefBG-FEw

New episode up Bloodbaths fans!

0

This week Kyle finds an amazing Italian movie that he deems to be just as good as his beloved SPOOKIES in GRAVEYARD DISTURBANCE.  Will Tim agree?  Or will it cause a rift in time and space forcing us to shut down the show in order to save the fabric of the universe from being torn asunder.  Probably not. But the flick is that damn awesome (despite what Tim might think) Also, Tim talks about a Lance Henriksen flick called IN THE SPIDERS WEB.  So listen to this show and learn the many ways in which to destroy the grim reaper, because apparently he’s a giant pussy.

 

http://bloodbathspodcast.blogspot.com/

Four… Way… Dance!

0

This week we check in on two dudes from the old times.  First we have Vincent Price in HOUSE OF WAX in 3D.  Then we cover FRANKIE AVALON in The HAUNTED HOUSE OF HORRORS. Also we answer all your questions over Facebook live and recount the weeks watching habits. ENJOY FUCKERS!

http://bloodbathspodcast.blogspot.com/

 

This wee Tim and Kyle return to talk about a Fred Olen Ray joint in THE EVIL SPAWN.  And we got a well-loved flick from the best year for movie ever 1987 in THE HIDDEN.  Also we have the usual nonsense of question answering and recounting of the weeks film watching activities.  I assure you it’s great.

http://bloodbathspodcast.blogspot.com/

 

On this episode we travel to 1987 (because it was the best year for movies of all time) to talk about 2 absolute staples of the genre.  First we got HELLO MARY LOU:  PROM NIGHT 2.  Then we check in on David Bowie’s zombie and his possessed television set in THE VIDEO DEAD.  Also, we have witty banter with our questions from our fans and talk about all the movies we watched in the weeks past.

http://bloodbathspodcast.blogspot.com/

 

This week we have our annual GAME OF THRONES: SEASON & RECAP show.  With the usual guest T-SHIRT JOE.  And also MOE PORNE from the NO BUDGET NIGHTMARES podcast.  We have our thoughts on the fate of the iron throne,  who dies… who should have dies… and how we think all this mess is gonna end up.  So enjoy the show because “The night is long and full of terrors”.

http://bloodbathspodcast.blogspot.com/